Pastors & Staff

Rev. Thomas H. Allen

Senior Pastor

Thomas began his ministry at Angier Baptist in June of 2019. A graduate of Campbell University Divinity School, Thomas is committed to teaching the Word of God and sharing God’s love with everyone. Thomas believes that the gift of conversation is one of the greatest gifts God has given us and he welcomes each opportunity to share with the people around him. He has served churches in North Carolina and Florida, and he most recently served as Pastor at First Baptist Church, Rowland, NC. Thomas and his wife, Ashley, have 3 children, Julianne, Adelaide, and Mack. In his free time, he is probably with his family but you also might find him cheering on his undergraduate Alma mater, Wake Forest University, as well as watching sports of all kinds.

Kim East

Children's Minister

Kim began serving as Children’s Minister in 2008 for our youngest members birth-5th grade. She earned a Master of Faith and Leadership Formation  Degree at Campbell University Divinity School in May of 2021 and was Ordained as a Minister in September of 2021.  She works with the RA’s, GA’s, and Mission Friends as well as Kids for Christ.  Her love is watching the children grow in their faith and helping out with local mission projects. She lives in Angier with her husband Mike and has two beautiful daughters – Jessica and Kayla.

DJ Byers

Youth Minister

DJ began his ministry at Angier Baptist Church in November of 2021 . He graduated with a Bachelors in General Ministries at Mid-Atlantic Christian University and has grown a passion in helping students develop their relationship with Christ.  He has served at different youth camps such as Deep Impact where he learned how to better minister youth and teach them about who Jesus is and what he came to do. DJ believes that one of the most important things in student ministry is practicing active listening to provide a safe place where youth can feel heard and feel welcome to ask questions.  In his free time DJ loves to sing and play music on his guitar as well as use his gift to worship and lead others in worship. 

Chris Hockaday

Overcomers Director

 Chris has served for several years as the director of the area’s Overcomer’s group.  This ministry reaches families that deal with addictions and grief in the surrounding communities.  He is married to his beautiful wife Regina.

Barbara Hudson

Music Minister

Barbara has enjoyed service at Angier Baptist since 1995. In addition to the Chancel Choir, she directs 2 hand bell choirs and the praise group along with our Golden Gems special choirs. She received Bachelors and Masters Degrees in Music from UNC-Greensboro and is retired from teaching at Campbell University’s Music Department after 33 years. Married to Chris since 1987, Barbara is proud to be the mother of Alex, Zadok and Carrie Anna.


Lee McLean


Lee has been a longtime member of Angier Baptist and began playing accompaniment in 2010.  She enjoys her job as a nurse and spending time with her husband, Sammy, and daughter, Jennifer.


Lynne Wilkerson

Administrative Assistant

Lynne began her ministry at Angier Baptist In April of 2010. She enjoys planting flowers in the garden, socializing with friends, playing with animals, and spending time with her husband Troy and son Duncan. In the past Lynne has served as a meeting planner with great coordinating skills, organization, and administrative tasks.  She is a constant friendly face and knowledgeable resource as she strives to aid everyone who walks into the office at Angier Baptist.

Kristen Young

Child Care Director

Kristen was hired as Director of our Child Care Center in October 2021. She has served Angier Baptist Church Child Care for over 10 years. Before becoming Director she served as Assistant Director for 5 years and has been in childcare for almost 20 years. Throughout her career, she has worked with infants, toddlers, and school-age children.  Kristen has an Associate in Applied Science degree with a focus on Early Childhood, her Administration Level 2 Credential, CPR/First Aid Certified, SIDS Training, BSAC Training, Playground Safety Training,  and Fire Safety Training.  Kristen is currently pursuing her bachelor’s degree in early childhood.  She is the wife of Mark Young and mother to her little miracle Brayden.
Click here for Deacon Nomination Information

2021 Church Year
Deacon Nomination . . . . February 28 & March 7
Deacon Election  . . . . March 21, 2021

Current Diaconate

Dewey Blalock

Term Expires March 30, 2021

Dick Cruickshank

Term Expires March 30, 2021

Randall Johnson

Term Expires March 30, 2021

Delores Stephenson

Term Expires March 30, 2021

Butch Jones

Term Expires Sept. 30, 2021

Ruby Neal

Term Expires Sept. 30, 2021

Ronnie Riddle

Term Expires Sept. 30, 2021

Gordon Springle - Chair

Term Expires Sept. 30, 2021

Don Harrop

Term Expires Sept. 30, 2022

Robert Smith - Vice Chair

Term Expires Sept. 30, 2022

Susan Surles - Secretary

Term Expires Sept. 30, 2022

Don Ed Wimberly

Term Expires Sept. 30, 2022